Bertrand Schott ist spezialisiert auf die Regulierung von Finanzdienstleistungen, Investmentfonds und anderen Anlageinstrumenten, insbesondere Vermögensverwaltung und –vertrieb, Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen und den Handel mit Derivaten und anderen Finanzmarktinstrumenten. Er konzentriert sich auch auf Gesellschaftsrecht und M&A, vor allem im Finanzsektor. Bertrand Schott ist Mitglied des Executive Committee von NKF.

Erfahrung

Bertrand Schott berät nationale und international Banken, Vermögensverwalter, Fondsgesellschaften, Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen und andere Finanzinstitute sowie Investoren in allen Aspekten der Finanzmarktregulierung, oft in grenzüberschreitenden Projekten. Er wird von seinen Kunden regelmässig beauftragt, komplexe Dokumentationen sowie Rechtsgutachten zu erstellen oder sie vor der FINMA, der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht, zu vertreten.

Zu seinen Haupttätigkeiten gehören:

  • Neue Regelungen und Entwicklungen, insbesondere Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz und FinTech: Strukturierung von Angebot, Implementierung und Dokumentation

  • Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen, insbesondere Handelsplätze, Zahlungssysteme, zentrale Gegenparteien: Beschaffung von Lizenzen und Anerkennungen

  • Handel mit Finanzinstrumenten: Umsetzung der Derivatehandelsregulierung, Mitautor der ICMA/ISLA-Branchengutachten zu den Rahmenverträgen für Wertpapierleihe- und Repogeschäfte, Erstellung verschiedener Netting-Gutachten

  • Gesellschaftsrecht, M&A: Organisation, Corporate Governance, Transaktionen

  • Verwaltung und Vertrieb von Investmentfonds: Beratung bei Organisation, Delegation, Dokumentation

  • International Bar Association IBA
  • Schweizerischer Anwaltsverband SAV
  • Zürcher Anwaltsverband ZAV

Market Perception

  • Bertrand has been an excellent partner in connection with the work we have done together. He is calm and deliberate, but his experience has clearly helped us achieve the results we were seeking.

    IFLR1000 2020
  • Bertrand Schott is smart, friendly, and easy to work with.

    Legal 500 2020

News & Insights

Bertrand Schott specialises in the regulation of financial services, investment funds and other investment vehicles in particular asset management and distribution, financial market infrastructures and the trading of derivatives and other financial instruments. Bertrand also focuses on corporate law and M&A, primarily in the financial sector.

Experience

Bertrand Schott advises domestic and international banks, asset managers, fund management companies, financial market infrastructures and other financial institutions as well as investors in all aspects of financial market regulation, often in cross-border projects. He is regularly instructed by his clients to prepare complex documentation, to draft legal opinions or to represent them before FINMA, the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority.

His main activities include:

  • New regulations and developments, in particular the Financial Services Act and FinTech: structuring offer, implementation, documentation

  • Financial market infrastructures, in particular trading venues, payment systems, central counterparties: obtaining licenses and recognitions

  • Trading in financial instruments: implementation of derivatives trading regulation, co-author of the ICMA/ISLA industry opinions on the framework agreements for securities lending and repo transactions, drafting of various netting opinions

  • Corporate law, M&A: organisation, corporate governance, transactions

  • Management and distribution of investment funds: advice on organization, delegation, documentation

  • IBA International Bar Association
  • Swiss Bar Association
  • Zurich Bar Association

News & Insights